• Details
  • Listing
  • Exploring the works of a single composer has become a specialty for PUC. In 2016, Alexander Melnikov made a jaw-dropping debut playing Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes & Fugues; a few months later, Isabelle Faust played an unforgettable recital of J.S. Bach’s complete violin sonatas and partitas in the Princeton University Chapel. To help us celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday, these renowned soloists return for a rare joint appearance together with their dear friend and cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras. Their uplifting program is a remarkable opportunity to immerse in the composer’s piano trios. While these works are often overshadowed by his monumental string quartets, the virtuosity and expanse of Beethoven’s piano trios revolutionized this genre. The “Archduke” trio remains one of the absolute pinnacles of the repertoire—its brilliance, power, and joy well matched to the musicians who will perform it.

Isabelle Faust, Violin | Jean-Guihen Queyras, Cello | Alexander Melnikov, Piano
  • February 6, 2020 to February 6, 2020
  • Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall
  • $25-55 General / $10 Students (with valid ID)